Paupercorn

Paupercorn Noted in NashvillePaupercorn (to go with tomorrow’s free movies)

There are lots of bonuses that come with being a starving artist.  How was that?  Convincing?  But I must reluctantly admit that it’s true.  Whoever said it takes money to make money missed out on the pride that comes with building something from nothing.  This experience reveals parts of your character you didn’t know existed – your adaptability, endurance, resilience, and resourcefulness.

It also nudges you to learn and try things you never have before, things you didn’t know you wanted to.  If I had never been poor, I would not have learned to make my own egg noodles or hot fudge.  I never would have understood the evolution of country cooking and why it tastes so darn good.  And I never would have stopped buying microwave popcorn.  The closest I ever came to homemade popcorn was when I brought home Jiffy Pop.

This version is much more funnerer, much tastier, and has none of the preservatives and partially hydrogenated oils.  I’ve done many variations of this, but this is the recipe that makes me feel down-right wealthy.

Paupercorn Noted in Nashville

  • Medium Pot with Lid
  • ½ Cup Popcorn Kernels
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • ½ tsp. Dried Thyme
  • ¼ tsp. Dried Rosemary
  • 2 Tbsp. Oil (Canola or Vegetable works best)
  • 2 Tbsp. Butter
  • 3 Dashes Hot Sauce **

Mix salt, thyme, and rosemary in a small bowl.

Pour oil into saucepan and place on stove at medium-high heat.

Paupercorn Noted in Nashville

While oil is heating, melt butter in the microwave.

Paupercorn Noted in Nashville

Add hot sauce to butter and stir.

Paupercorn Noted in NashvillePaupercorn Noted in Nashville

Once oil is hot, add popcorn kernels and spice mix to pot.

Paupercorn Noted in Nashville

Take off of the burner and stir well.  The smell is already amazing at this point.

Paupercorn Noted in Nashville

Cover with lid and place back on burner.  Turn down the temperature slightly to keep spices from scorching.   Shake popcorn occasionally over burner.

Paupercorn Noted in Nashville

Once kernels start popping, the lid will begin to lift.  This happens quickly.  Take it off of burner to finish popping.

Paupercorn Noted in Nashville

Pour ½ of popped corn in a large bowl.  Hot sauce will settle, so stir butter/hot sauce mixture before pouring ½ of it over popcorn.

Toss or stir well.

Paupercorn Noted in Nashville

Repeat with remaining popcorn and butter/hot sauce mixture.  Eat.

** You have to watch out with me.  Both of my parents are from Louisiana, and I grew up in Texas, so I like hot sauce in everything.

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

One thought on “Paupercorn

  1. Pingback: Noted in Nashville Recipes | noted in nashville

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

