Hanging up My Dresses

Decorating on the Cheap Noted in NashvilleHanging up My Dresses

Three things were going on with me.  I was desperate to do anything creative to my house.  I was holding on to three dresses I was n-e-v-e-r going to wear.  And I was penniless . . . again.  As the saying goes, necessity is the mother of invention.  In this case, necessity was the mommy dearest of invention.  “No wire hangers EVER!”

My dresses came off of their wire hangers.  I hadn’t worn them in years anyway.  One of them I had never worn in public.  But they reminded me of a really special time in my life.  They still do; only now they no longer take up closet space.  This project could be done with old shirts, skirts, jackets, baby blankets, pillow cases, ties, anything you want to keep but not wear/use anymore.

Decorating on the Cheap Noted in NashvilleDecorating on the Cheap Noted in NashvilleDecorating on the Cheap Noted in NashvilleDecorating on the Cheap Noted in Nashville

I covered wall hangings I wasn’t using, but box tops would work nicely instead.  The various shapes and sizes would look great in a grouping.  Inexpensive canvases from an art supply store would also do the trick.

Decorating on the Cheap Noted in NashvilleCut.

Decorating on the Cheap Noted in NashvilleDecorating on the Cheap Noted in NashvilleDecorating on the Cheap Noted in NashvilleHot glue.

Decorating on the Cheap Noted in NashvilleDecorating on the Cheap Noted in NashvilleDecorating on the Cheap Noted in NashvilleDecorating on the Cheap Noted in NashvilleHang.

There’s no need for a nail hanger on the back.  I hung these on the diagonal, so the nail catches the corner.  If you want to hang them upright, you’ll just need two nails – one for each corner.

Decorating on the Cheap Noted in NashvilleDecorating on the Cheap Noted in Nashville(Ignore the painted border.  It was there when I got here.  I just haven’t painted over it yet.)

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

