Thank You for Not Asking: My First Month of Blogging

Noted in Nashville Thank You for Not Asking: My First Month of BloggingThank You for Not Asking:  My First Month of Blogging

Today marks my first month of blogging.

Blogging.

What a funny word.

What a funny concept.

We are all a funny breed of columnists now, minus the column.  Nobody invited us to write about the effect of Foucaux’s works on western society.  No one hired us to share our secret to the perfect soufflé.  No one assigned us the task of finding the best restaurants in the Upper East Side . . . of Wisconsin.

No one asked.  Certainly, no one asked me.

It took six months of shilly-shallying (see July 30th’s post) before I pulled the bloggin’ trigger.  Two things scared me.  Okay, you caught me in a lie.  MANY things scared me.  But two things scared me most.

  1.  Is blogging about life just a poor substitute for living it?
  2.  Is blogging the ultimate form of narcissism?

After a month, I’ve decided I don’t really need the answers; even though I’m still scared.  Every time I write, I’m scared.  Every time I don’t write, I’m scared.

It’s okay to be scared.  It’s okay not to be.  Write anyway.  Just write.

And so, it is written – a month’s worth of posts.  Thank you to everyone who has “commented”, “liked”, and “followed” this blog so far.  It thrills and encourages me each time I see the icon at the top, right of my screen light up.  With weakened eyes, sore shoulders, and expanded vocabulary, I look forward to the next month.

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

Special thanks to these “firsts.”  :

First to “like” a post.  http://clotildajamcracker.wordpress.com/

First to comment.  (I don’t think he has a blog.  I apologize if I’m wrong.)  “Brian”

First to “follow” this blog.  http://restaurantbastards.wordpress.com

Very close second to “follow” this blog.  http://rantingchef.wordpress.com

First to answer an email.  http://guitarlicksandtabs.com

Noted in Nashville Thank You for Not Asking: My First Month of Blogging

2 thoughts on “Thank You for Not Asking: My First Month of Blogging

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

