Mom’s Skillet Cornbread: The Only Cornbread for Me

Cornbread Recipe Noted in NashvilleMom’s Skillet Cornbread: The Only Cornbread for Me

Cornbread is either done really well, or really badly.  It can be a temperamental bread –  turning dry and heavy which no amount of butter in the world can save.

Growing up, this cornbread was a staple in our home.  Mom knew the recipe by heart and made it at least three nights a week.

When done correctly, it is crispy on the outside, soft and fluffy on the inside.  It has a hint of sweetness, and is super moist.

I’ll tell you a secret.  I like to dip it in ketchup.  (Weird, I know.)  It’s also good with honey for a light desert.

Cornbread Recipe.  Ingredients.  Noted in Nashville.

  • 8” Iron Skillet
  • ½ Cup Corn Meal
  • 2 ½ Tbsp. Flour
  • 2 ½ Tbsp. Sugar
  • 1 tsp. Baking Powder
  • ½ tsp. Salt
  • 1 Pinch Baking Soda
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/3 Cup Milk
  • ½ tsp. Vinegar (Or use Buttermilk.)
  • 1 ½ Tbsp. Oil (Vegetable or Canola works best)
  • Butter (optional)

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

Pour oil into 8” iron skillet.  Heat oil on medium high.

Cornbread Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Pour milk and vinegar together.  (I almost never have buttermilk around.  This is a good substitute) Stir.

Cornbread Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Mix dry ingredients in mixing bowl.

Cornbread Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Cornbread Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Make a well in the middle of dry ingredients.  Add egg.  Break up egg slightly with fork.

Cornbread Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Add milk/vinegar mixture to well.

Cornbread Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Mix wet and dry ingredients together until smooth.  This is a quick bread, so you don’t want to over-stir.

Cornbread Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Pour cornbread mixture into hot skillet.

Cornbread Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Let cook on stove for 2 – 3 minutes.  Edges will begin to cook.

Cornbread Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Cook in oven for 5 – 7 minutes – until golden brown.

Cornbread Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Cornbread Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Flip bread onto plate.

Cornbread Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Cut into eight pieces.  If desired, add butter while hot.

Serves 3 – 4 people.

Cornbread Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.– Anita, Noted in Nashville

17 thoughts on “Mom’s Skillet Cornbread: The Only Cornbread for Me

  1. Hi, thanks for visiting my Christian Encouragement Site.
    http://weepingintodancing.wordpress.com/

    I decided to list some favorite “COMFORT RECIPES” and I would like to include your cornbread recipe/link. Soup is my comfort food so there will be several of those too. I am trying to type them out but they keep getting scrambled. When I have some extra time, I am sure I will get them whipped into shape.
    Come visit me again and please share my blog if you think others will find it encouraging and helpful.
    CherylZ

    • Thank you Cheryl. You have no idea how you just made my day. When I think of my mom, I think of this recipe. She died six years ago today and I can’t think of a better way to honor her.

  2. Pingback: CORNBREAD: COMFORT FOOD FOR ALL « weepingintodancing

  3. Pingback: Comfort, Community, and Cornbread | noted in nashville

  4. Pingback: Beef Stew on This | noted in nashville

  5. Pingback: A Super Bowl . . . Er, Big Game of Chili | noted in nashville

  6. Pingback: Noted in Nashville Recipes | noted in nashville

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

