Picardy Thirds: A Happy Ending to Broke Times

Baroque Times.  Noted in Nashville.

Big D’s outturned pocket. There are usually more guitar picks than change.

Picardy Thirds: A Happy Ending to Broke Times

I’ve been feeling pretty sorry for myself today.

I was expecting money.

Very little money.

It didn’t come.

And it ruined my day.

Baroque Times.  Noted in Nashville.

I’m not ashamed to admit this because I know many of you are in the same rusty boat.

When pocket change is all that stands between you and the total collapse of your financial and emotional health, there’s only one way to characterize your situation.

You, my cyber friend, are broke.

But not just broke.

Like the musical period between Renaissance and Classical. . . .

. . . You are Baroque.

Ba-roke.

Broke.

But not ba-roken.

Here’s a bit of info you may not remember from your sixth grade music history lessons.  The music of the Baroque period often ended with a Picardy third.

Pshaw!  Of course, I remember that!  But, you know . . . just . . . refresh my memory.

The music of that time was often modal (moody) or minor (sad).  But on the very last chord, the composer would end on a major – leaving the listener with a happy ending.

https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/6/6a/Johann_Sebastian_Bach.jpg

Johann Sebastian Bach. User of Picardy thirds during the Baroque period. Picture courtesy of Wikipedia.

A Picardy third was that period’s way to “take a sad song, and make it better.”  And, speaking of the Beatles, here’s their usage of this technique.  Listen to how the last chord of this song changes everything.

I can’t tell you how badly and quickly I need this period of my life to end in a Picardy third.

And I know I don’t have to.  I know you need it too.

Until then, take heart.  We’re all in good company.  The Beatles and Bach were all Baroque at one time or another.

But not just Baroque.

Ba-roke.

Broke.

Not ba-roken.

Baroque times.  Noted in Nashville.

Big D putting to good use the contents of his pocket.

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

2 thoughts on “Picardy Thirds: A Happy Ending to Broke Times

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

