Simple Gifts

Simple Gifts

  • Music & Lyric by Elder Joseph Brackett
  • Arrangement by Anita, Noted in Nashville, copyright 2012
  • Vocals by Anita, Noted in Nashville

"Simple Gifts" by Noted in Nashville.I’ve never hosted Thanksgiving in my home, and this year is no exception.  Maybe that’s why the idea of it is still so romantic to me.  I’m in love with visions of cooking for a gaggle of family members who straggle in conversation, play touch football and draggle my floor, haggle for the dark meat and waggle back home after pie.

The tradition that I find most appealing on this day is holding hands around the table and saying why we’re thankful.  The answers are always so simple – family, friends, home, health, good food.

I’m not going to try to outwit Elder Joseph Brackett.  What he says about gifts is as good as it gets, and my list is as simple as anyone’s.  I am thankful for Big D, family, friends, home, health, food . . . and you.

‘Tis the gift to be simple, ’tis the gift to be free
‘Tis the gift to come down where we ought to be,
And when we find ourselves in the place just right,
‘Twill be in the valley of love and delight.
When true simplicity is gain’d,
To bow and to bend we shan’t be asham’d,
To turn, turn will be our delight,
Till by turning, turning we come ’round right.

Happy Thanksgiving!

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

7 thoughts on “Simple Gifts

  1. I’ve cooked many a Thanksgiving dinner–both for big groups and just for my family. None of the dishes are difficult to prepare, but it’s the coordination of everything I find stressful.

    Lovely song, by the way. And Happy Thanksgiving to you, too!

    • I would think that “time management” as they say on “Chopped” is the hardest part. Big D and I have cooked for a crowd before, and it stresses me out . . . therefore, I would like to do a lot more of it. 🙂 Masochistic, I know.

      Thank you for listening and stopping by!

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

