Liebster Award

Noted in Nashville.  Liebster Blog Award.

Cooking with Corinna was one of the first blogs I ever followed.  I don’t even remember how I found her, but I started following her before she was Freshly Pressed.  From then on, I felt prett…y good about my taste in blogs.  To quote Randy Stonehill, “It’s a gift.  I . . . don’t talk about it much.”

Speaking of taste, Cooking with Corinna is all about food.  A woman after my own heart, Corinna focuses on creating satisfying homemade meals and desserts on a monetary and sometimes time budget.  She also uses her leftovers and turns them into new and exciting meals.  Arr, ye olde repurposing technique!  Food Network would be proud.  (Read more about repurposing at Three for $3.)  She also makes a mean cocktail.  When she’s not in the kitchen, or at her computer accepting blogging awards, she’s working on her PhD.  I need a cocktail just thinking about her schedule.

I was very flattered to receive the nomination for this award from Corinna.  It is my first nomination, and I can’t help but feel that it is a blogging milestone.  As you know, blogging is hard work.  A little recognition from time to time can be just what a blogger needs to keep going and think, “Hey, maybe I’m on to something here.”  So, thank you Corinna.

1. What is your earliest food memory?

What a great question.  My earliest memory of food is a strong one.  I was sitting at the dinner table with my two older brothers, my mom, and my dad.  I must have been two years old or younger because my parents divorced when I was very young.  What is most interesting about this memory is that I have no recollection of what we were eating that night.  Whatever it was, I must have been enjoying it very much because my oldest brother turned to me and scolded, “’Nita Beth, quit smacking!  Chew with your mouth closed!”  I have heeded his words ever since that day.

2. What is your favourite fruit/vegetable?

I have a very hard time choosing a favorite vegetable.  I have rarely met a vegetable I didn’t like, and I have always been a veggie lover – even as a little girl.  I never turned away broccoli, asparagus, or even Brussels sprouts.  For nearly three years I sailed through vegetarianism with nary a meat craving.  I’m not a vegetarian anymore, but I still love my veggies – particularly when covered in cheese.

3. What is your least favourite fruit/vegetable?

I have a goal.  Someday I will post a recipe of banana pudding . . . sans bananas.  For my taste, bananas have a great flavor, but an unappealing texture.

4. What is your favourite board game?

Candy Land is my childhood favorite board game.  I still get excited when I see that game, though I haven’t played it in a long time.  Today, when I feel like reaching the point of total frustration, I play Trivial Pursuit or Scrabble with Big D.  Maybe I should return to Candy Land.

5. What was the best Christmas present you ever received?

I have been blessed with many lovely Christmases.  As a child, my mom made every Christmas special with gifts like a See-N-Spell, a Hello Kitty Diary, Simon, jewelry (costume of course), and a pogo stick under the tree.

She probably would have said that the best gift she ever gave me was the pogo stick.  It kept me occupied for hours at a time.  I don’t like to brag, but I’m a pretty talented pogo sticker.  “It’s (another) gift.  I . . . don’t talk about it much.”

6. What is your favourite kitchen appliance?

I just received a nearly new sterling silver (Inside joke.  Read here.) oven/stove from my sister-in-law.  It is the nicest I’ve ever owned, and even though I’ve yet to plug it in, I know I’m going to love cooking with it.

7. If you had to choose one cuisine you had to eat for the rest of your life what would it be and why?

Oh, that’s an easy one.  Chips and dip.  Is that a cuisine?

8. What was your favourite sweet as a child?

My Mimi made the best banana nut bread on the face of the earth.  (Like I said, I love the flavor of bananas, but not the texture.)  One year, I hadn’t seen Mimi in months.  Mom and I went to her house for a visit, and as we were leaving she handed me four loaves of banana nut bread.  “Happy Birthday.  Merry Christmas.  Happy New Year.  And Happy Valentine’s Day” she said.  I ate three loaves in the 2 ½ hour car ride home.

As long as I’m telling on myself . . . .

There were a couple of lovely sisters who baked and brought a sweet potato pie for me to every church social.  I usually ate most of the pie and hid what I couldn’t finish from the rest of the congregation.

9. What was the first thing you ever cooked?

I began “helping” my mom bake cookies during Christmas time when I was five.  I think my major contribution was taste-testing.

10. How old were you when you made your first Christmas or Thanksgiving dinner?

I think the first year I ever made Christmas dinner was the year I married Big D.  I was 31 and living 1,000 miles away from home for the first time in my life.  I remember calling Mom many, many times for her recipes and advice.  That was the year I learned to make my grandmother’s sweet potato pie.  I also learned to make Mom’s cornbread dressing, sweet potato casserole, strawberry salad, and 4-Layer Dessert.  (Read more about my mom’s influence in my kitchen and my life at Mom Ratted Me Out.)  Big D and I spent the whole day in the kitchen together making our favorites, making a mess, and making memories.  It was the perfect Christmas.

I had a difficult time finding bloggers who haven’t already received this award.  I’m more than a few steps behind most of you.  I want to thank all of you for spending your time reading my posts, trying my recipes, listening to my music, and laughing at my jokes.  If I didn’t nominate you for this award, it’s simply because I’m frazzled this month, or I thought you were already a Liebster Award recipient.  I appreciate and respect you all more than you know.

If I nominated you, and you don’t wish to accept the award, just let the offer dissolve into the World Wide Web.  I’ll still be your blogging buddy.

I’ll be back to my busy blogging schedule in the New Year.  We have lots to catch up on.

Thanks to Nancy Oram at  http://www.squidoo.com/newyearsimages for this wonderful vintage New Year’s image.

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013!

Questions:

  1. Do you now, or have you ever played a musical instrument?
  2. Do you sing in the shower?
  3. Who are some of your favorite musicians?  (Individuals and/or Bands)
  4. How do you celebrate New Year’s?
  5. Do you remember keeping any of your New Year’s resolutions?
  6. What is your favorite party food – to serve or to eat?
  7. Do you have a sweet tooth?  What are some of your favorites?
  8. What is your favorite kitchen tool, and why?
  9. What has blogging taught you this year?
  10. What are your blogging goals for 2013?

Nominees:

To accept this award, please:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and share a link to that blog.
  2. Attach the award icon to your site.
  3. Answer some questions from the previous blogger and choose new ones for your nominees.
  4. Nominate other bloggers for the award.

Anita, Noted in Nashville

8 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Congrats on the award! Soon more will be sailing your way than you possibly know what to do with. 😉

    It’s great that you are such a veggie lover. Your body thanks you. But as for the ‘covered in cheese’ part, hmmm… 😉

    • I try not to smoother my veggies in dairy too often, but when it’s the holidays . . . . Big D and I managed to use nearly two boxes of butter this week! :0

      Thank you for your faith in me It’s funny. I almost had myself convinced that I didn’t care about no stinkin’ awards. Yeah, right!

      • Recognition is always nice. We humans are sad that way. 😉

        As for the butter–oh, boy, I went through many sticks myself. Between the cookies and the stuffing, I probably won’t need to moisturize my skin for months. It’s oozing out my pores…

  2. Congratulations… and a heartfelt thank you! I was really pleased to see your nomination… (you are right, blogging is hard work and an award goes a long way in keeping the juices flowing). Good thing I have continued to believe in Santa – and his elves 🙂

    Have a great new year celebration. See ya in 2013 – when the world carries on :).
    Thanks again, for choosing the Penguins for this really nice-looking award.

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

