Brussels Sprout Dip

Brussels Sprouts Dip.  Party Food.Brussels Sprout Dip

Big D and I recently saw a billboard of a little girl turning her nose up at a plate of Brussels sprouts.  And who can blame her?  From the looks of things, her parents clearly had no idea the secret to getting kids to eat their veggies . . . cover them in four kinds of cheese and scoop them up with a chip.

Okay, I’m not really suggesting this as a parenting technique.  This is a special occasion kind-of recipe.  Way last year (like, a few weeks ago) Big D saw me chopping up some Brussels sprouts.  While passing through the kitchen he said, “You know what those would be good in?  Some kind of dip.”

Have I mentioned that my husband is brilliant?  He knows the secret to winning my heart – chips and dip.  I was on a mission, and I realized Brussels sprouts are the perfect substitute for the ever-predictable Spinach Artichoke Dip.  They have the color of spinach and the texture of an artichoke.

I tried this recipe out for our friends on New Year’s Day.  It was a hit.  The only suggestion Big D had was to add bacon next time.  Brilliant, I tell ya.

Unique Dip Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.

  • Large Baking Dish
  • Medium Pot
  • Medium Pan
  • 1 Pound Brussels Sprouts
  • 2 Tbsp. White Distilled Vinegar
  • 1 Small Onion (I used a Spanish onion.)
  • 3 Cloves Garlic
  • 1 tsp. Oil
  • 3 1/2 Tbsp. Butter (Plus some to butter baking dish.)
  • 3 Tbsp. Flour
  • 2 Cups Milk
  • 8 oz. Cream Cheese
  • ½ Cup Grated Parmesan Romano Cheese
  • 4 oz. Monterey Jack Cheese, Grated
  • 4 oz. Cheddar Cheese, Grated (I used a white and yellow combination.)
  • Salt
  • Pepper to Taste
  • Paprika (Smoked, Regular, or a Combination)
  • 5 Strips Bacon (optional)

Butter baking dish.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Unique Dip Recipe.  Noted in Nashville. Unique Dip Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Cut hard ends (surplus stems) off of Brussels sprouts.  Cut large Brussels sprouts in half, from top to bottom.  Leave smaller Brussels sprouts whole.

Unique Dip Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Thoroughly rinse sprouts.

Unique Dip Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Place sprouts in pot and cover with water.  Add 2 Tbsp. vinegar and 1 tsp. salt.  Stir.  Bring to boil.  Boil approximately 10 – 15 minutes, until fork tender.

Here’s a tip.  The vinegar brings out the natural sweetness in Brussels sprouts.  It also mimics the brine flavor of a canned artichoke heart.

Unique Dip Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Mince onion and garlic.  Place ½ Tbsp. butter and 1 tsp. oil in pan on medium high heat.  Add onion.  Cook 2 – 3 minutes.  Then add garlic.  Cook an additional 1 – 2 minutes.  Don’t let garlic brown.  Put aside.

For this next part, I like to use the same pan as before because I hate doing dishes, and I like the flavor that the onion and garlic leave behind.

Unique Dip Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Lower heat to medium.  Melt 3 Tbsp. butter in pan.  Whisk 3 Tbsp. flour to make paste.  Slowly add milk, continuously whisking to keep lumps from forming.

Unique Dip Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Add cream cheese.  (To tell the truth, there were only 6 ounces in this batch because somebody got into the cream cheese with her crackers.  Yes, that would be me.)  Melt into sauce.

Unique Dip Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Add Parmesan, Romano cheese.  Whisk together.

Unique Dip Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Stir garlic and onions back into sauce.  Add grated Monterey Jack cheese.  Stir well and remove from heat.

Allow cooked Brussels sprouts to drain thoroughly in colander.  Chop into large chunks and stir into sauce.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Cook bacon until crispy.  Let cool.  Crumble 3 strips and stir into dip mixture.  (Optional.)

Unique Dip Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Unique Dip Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Add mixture to baking dish and cover with grated cheddar cheese.  Sprinkle with paprika (I used smoked and regular) and crumble remaining bacon over the top of dip.

Cook in oven until dip bubbles around edges, approximately 15 minutes.  Serve with your favorite chips.

Brussels Sprouts Dip.  Party Food.– Anita, Noted in Nashville

11 thoughts on “Brussels Sprout Dip

  1. Very clever idea! My sons have not eaten Brussels sprouts, because their mother doesn’t cook them. Because I don’t like them. But I do like spinach dip, so I bet I could be easily fooled with this. 🙂

  2. As one of the friends who was lucky enough to try this on new year’s day, let me add a comment: I liked this way more than spinach artichoke dip, because, while similar, it was just different enough to be quite new and quite delicious. I tells ya, I’ve never had any bad food at the DNA house! Now, if you haven’t already, cold you get Big D to share his homemade sweet roll recipe? Neither Kristin nor I had ever had a homemade sweet roll, and it was so moist and delicious, just like the dip above. Bravo Anita! 😉 (PS: Kristin says hey!)

    • Hey, our recipe guinea pig friends! Thanks for confirming to the peeps that you really did like the dip. You’re adding to my credibility . . . and culinary ego. 🙂

      We should definitely post Big D’s homemade sweet roll recipe. But he wasn’t very happy with the last batch he made you guys. I’m pretty sure he’ll tweak it again. (He does that.)

      Hi Kristin!!!

  3. Pingback: Noted in Nashville Recipes | noted in nashville

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

