Shredded Chipotle Pork (Pork Loin 2 Ways, Recipe 1)

Shredded Pork Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.

Shredded Chipotle Pork

No matter how long I’ve cooked, I am constantly learning and improving and sometimes . . . screwing up.  For instance, this Christmas I learned that handpicked and freshly cracked hickory nuts are a perfect substitute for store bought pecans.  However, biting into the occasional shell remnant can make even the Nut Cracker (that would be me) keep away from her favorite dessert.  On the plus side, I learned that adding a little ham juice to mashed potatoes takes them from pretty good to, “Just hand over the bowl and no one gets hurt” kind-of-good.

I also learned that buying large cuts of meat is a very, very good buy.  (Somewhere my mom is saying, “Duh!!!”)  Our less than $10 ham, put five meals on the table – including a very large pot of soup.  In case you’re new, let me just tell you what a cheapskate penny pincher resourceful person I am.  Once I realized we were eating ham for under $1 a person, I asked myself, “What else can I make in big batches?”  So, this time around I gave pork loin a try.  It was my first attempt to make pork loin of any variety, and I was really happy with the results.

This is pork loin recipe one of two (see recipe 2 here – Around the World Roasted Pork Loin), and it is perfect for tacos (crunchy or soft), enchiladas, over rice, or in a taco salad.  Moist, tender, and juicy, serve it for your family’s Mexican food night or fiesta for a large group of friends.

Cook low and slow for 7 hours.

Shredded Pork Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Shredded Pork Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Shredded Pork Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.

  • Large Casserole Dish, Dutch Oven, or Stock Pot
  • 2 – 2 ½ Lbs. Pork Loin
  • 5 Oz. (1/2 Can) Diced Tomatoes with Green Chilis
  • 3 ½ Oz. (1/2 Can) Chipotle Salsa
  • 1/3 White Onion, Sliced
  • 4 Large Cloves Garlic, Crushed
  • 3 Tbsp. Oil (I used Canola)
  • ½ tsp. Mexican Oregano
  • ½ tsp. Paprika
  • 2 Bay Leaves
  • 1 ½ tsp. Salt
  • 1 Cup Water

Preheat oven to 200 degrees.

Shredded Pork Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Place pork loin in dish and add ingredients.

Here’s a tip.  Pour chipotle salsa directly over pork.  Pour water around the loin, leaving some onion, spices, and garlic directly on pork loin for extra flavor.

Cover dish and bake for 4 hours.

Shredded Pork Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Remove from oven.  Spoon liquid over pork.  Remove pork from dish to trim fat and cut meat into large chunks.  Place pork back in dish with liquid.  Cover and bake for 3 additional hours.

Remove from oven and shred pork with two forks.

Here’s a tip.  The longer you allow pork to sit in liquid before serving, the moister it will be.

Don’t forget to remove the bay leaves before serving with guacamole, sour cream, queso, a little lime juice, or whatever makes you happy.  If you’d like a guacamole recipe, here’s one using some of the remaining can of chipotle salsa – Roasted Garlic & Chipotle Guacamole.

Shredded Pork Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Shredded Pork Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.– Anita, Noted in Nashville

Recipe UpdateCarrie Rubin (check out her blog here) tried this recipe for her family.  Here’s what she had to say:

I made your Shredded Chipotle Pork in my crockpot last night and served it fajita style. So good! Everyone loved it. I used a whole can of the diced tomatoes with chili peppers though, and I omitted the water, because I was worried it would be too ‘juicy’ for tortillas. Turned out great. Thanks so much for the idea! So easy to make in the crockpot.

7 thoughts on “Shredded Chipotle Pork (Pork Loin 2 Ways, Recipe 1)

  1. Pingback: Around the World Roasted Pork Loin (Pork Loin 2 Ways, Recipe 2) | noted in nashville

  2. Pingback: Noted in Nashville Recipes | noted in nashville

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

