Audible Arrangements: New Music for an Old Friend

Arrangement of Infant Holy, Infant Lowly.  Noted in Nashville.

Anne and me just before my move to Nashville.

Audible Arrangements: New Music for an Old Friend

It’s hard to remember the beginning of some friendships.  At least, that’s the way it is with Anne.  When did I not know her?  When was she not a part of my world?  She folded into my life so smoothly and delicately – like meringue into cake batter – that I don’t even recall meeting her.  She was just . . . always there.

“Always” in this case means since middle school – my 7th grade year to be exact – and I have the pictures to prove it.  It would have been sooner, but she had the audacity to be born a year later than I was.  This fact bothers me more with each passing year.

Arrangement of "Infant Holy, Infant Lowly."  Noted in Nashville.

High School show choir. I have protected the faces of the innocent.

My senior year in H.S.  Even back then I knew the hair was unfortunate.

My senior year in H.S. Even back then I knew the hair was unfortunate.

Anne is an exceptionally gifted, intelligent, accomplished woman.  But she possesses two strengths in particular that have helped shape and drive my life.  1.)  She is a first class musician and vocalist.  2.)  She is the world’s most faithful friend.

These strengths were what motivated me last year as I arranged “Infant Holy, Infant Lowly” for her choir.  I wanted it to be good.  No, I wanted it to be great.  I wanted to show off a little for this Teacher of the Year recipient, long-time Soprano for the Dallas Symphony Chorus, and dearest friend in my life.

Anne has encouraged me to send this arrangement to publishers, so I’ll keep you apprised of the rejection letter count.  Meanwhile, take a listen to the Puster Pride Choir’s excellent performance of “Infant Holy, Infant Lowly” as directed by Anne Tracy last month.

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

6 thoughts on “Audible Arrangements: New Music for an Old Friend

  1. That’s a lovely arrangement. I have such great respect for music teachers, not just because my sister teaches middle school band and chorus or because my mother was a music professor, but because I admire the patience it must take sometimes to get through the day! And those concerts they put on. So much stress. My sister has to do four a year. I’m not sure how she does it.

    • You’re so right. Anne was just telling me the other day about all the performances she’s responsible for every year.

      It sounds like there’s a lot of musical ability in your family. I remember that one of your sons plays guitar as well. Did you ever take up music?

  2. Pingback: Awards Day | noted in nashville

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

