Everyday Vinaigrette

Vinaigrette Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Everyday Vinaigrette

To the tune of Frank Sinatra’s “My Way”:

Vinaigrettes, I’ve had a few;

But then again, I didn’t make them.

I’d need to top my greens,

By using things found in my kitchen.

I planned a triple course;

Each careful dish made in a sly way,

But more, much more than this;

I tossed it my way.

I read somewhere that the French often make their vinaigrettes au pif – by the nose.  If I kept high-end Dijon mustards, expensive olive oils, grey sea salt, sherry, red wine, or balsamic vinegars in my pantry; an herb garden full of rosemary, parsley, and chives; if I had a lemon tree, I think I’d feel pretty confident about my salad-dressing-making abilities.

But I don’t.

My American kitchen is consistently stocked with items like white vinegar (for cooking and cleaning), yellow mustard, Worcestershire, dried herbs, and ketchup.  Okay, with the exception of the ketchup, I figured I’d give it the old college try anyway.

I knew this dressing was a winner when my friend said she wanted to pick up a bottle from the store on her way home.  I sent the remaining homemade dressing with her, and decided I’d better write down the recipe before I forgot it.

So, enjoy this Americanized vinaigrette.  It’s super easy and you most likely already have the ingredients.  It may not be au pif, but I think it’s on the nose.

  • Mason Jar (or Plasticware with lid)
  • 2/3 Cup Canola Oil (or Soybean, Sunflower, Safflower, Light Olive Oil)
  • ¼ Cup White Vinegar
  • 1 Lg. Clove Garlic
  • 1 ½ Tbsp. Worcestershire
  • 2 Tbsp. Yellow Mustard
  • 2 ½ Tbsp. Light Brown Sugar
  • ¼ tsp. Dried Rosemary
  • 2 Pinches Salt
  • Pepper to Taste

I don’t keep spicy brown mustard on hand.  I was reluctant to use regular yellow mustard, but it’s what I had available.  I was surprised by how delicious it was, smoothing out the dressing and staying in the background of the overall flavor.

Vinaigrette Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Vinaigrette Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Crush and then mince garlic.

Add oil, vinegar, Worcestershire, mustard, brown sugar, and garlic to jar.

Finely chop dried rosemary.  Add rosemary and salt to jar.  Shake well.

For best results, refrigerate 8 or more hours to allow flavors to incorporate.  Shake well before serving.

Vinaigrette Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.– Anita, Noted in Nashville

3 thoughts on “Everyday Vinaigrette

  1. Pingback: Noted in Nashville Recipes | noted in nashville

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

