Asian-Flavored Pickled Carrots

Pickled Pink, Er Orange.  Noted in Nashville.Pickled Pink Orange: Asian-Flavored Pickled Carrots

We’ve established that I am . . . um, what’s the word?

Cheap!

No.

A Tightwad!

Nooo.

A Knucklehead McSpazatron!

No . . . wait.  Isn’t that a line from the SpongeBob SquarePants movie?!?  Now you’re just being a stinker.  I believe the word we agreed upon was “resourceful.”

It probably doesn’t surprise you to learn that I don’t throw much away.  In this case, it’s pickle juice.  Long after the pickles are gone, the juice remains useful.  A spoonful in my tuna, my tarter sauce, or my homemade salad dressing gives a little taste of dill in the background without the texture of the pickle.

The other day, I was trying to figure out what to do with the carrots in my fridge.  I had no lettuce.  No salad dressing.  No dip.  I didn’t want to cook out the nutrients – we needed some raw veggies.  I eyed the jar of pickle juice on the shelf and . . . “Bingo!”

These make a great snack, or add them to your tuna wrap.  I’ve never rolled my own sushi, but these would add a nice kick to your California Roll.  And with a hint of sweetness in this mix, kids will eat their veggies.

Pickled Pink, Er, Orange.  Noted in Nashville.

  • 4 – 5 Carrots
  • Jar of Leftover Dill Pickle Juice
  • 1 Large Garlic Clove
  • 3 Tbsp. (Rounded) Brown Sugar
  • 3 Tbsp. Soy Sauce
  • 1/4 tsp. Liquid Smoke (A little goes a long way.)
  • 6 Drops Sriracha Chili Sauce (Or more, if you can take the heat.) 🙂

Pickled Pink, Er, Orange.  Noted in Nashville.Pickled Pink, Er, Orange.  Noted in Nashville.In this recipe, I prefer to use a garlic press.  It really brings out the flavor.  If you don’t have a press, mash and then chop your garlic.

Pickled Pink, Er, Orange.  Noted in Nashville.Peel and slice carrots.  I cut my carrots into matchsticks, but thin chips would also work nicely.

Before adding carrots, shake ingredients thoroughly – until brown sugar is dissolved and all ingredients are well incorporated.

Pickled Pink, Er, Orange.  Noted in Nashville.Pickled Pink, Er, Orange.  Noted in Nashville.Add carrots to jar and shake well once more.

Refrigerate:

  • 8 Hours:  Good
  • 1 Day:  Better
  • 2 Days:  Best

Pickled Pink, Er, Orange.  Noted in Nashville.– Anita, Noted in Nashville

9 thoughts on “Asian-Flavored Pickled Carrots

  1. Anita, you had me at “Liquid Smoke.” BTW, I grew up about 100 miles north of “Music City” in a small town called Glasgow, KY. We depended on Nashville for our THREE TV stations, received on the 30 foot antennae lashed to the side of our house. ~James

    • Oh yeah! I’ve heard of Glasgow, KY. I’ve never been there, but my husband was raised here. Maybe he’s visited. He used to travel to little towns a lot to visit the local music stores. He called it going on “Guitar Safari”.

      We depend on Franklin, KY for our entertainment – they have a drive-in movie theater. It’s very inexpensive, has the best junk, er movie food ever, and they always show a double feature. It’s so much fun!

  2. Pingback: Noted in Nashville Recipes | noted in nashville

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

