Deviled Egg Do-Over

Deviled Egg Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.

Deviled Egg Do-Over

Deviled eggs are staple in the south.  We pretty much take it for granted that where there’s a gathering, there’s a plate of deviled eggs – especially around the holidays.  As I was thinking of Easter dishes the other day, something occurred to me:

Why do they call them “deviled”?  Doesn’t that word suggest heat?

I had always just accepted the term without question.  If I had been raised to call them “banana eggs”, I guess I wouldn’t have wondered why until now.  So I looked up the origins of this suggestive word, and found out that what I’ve been eating all these years was misnamed.  A much more appropriate term would be angel-ed eggs – smooth, tame, at times even slightly sweet (especially if Miracle Whip was involved).  The recipe is simple – mayonnaise, white vinegar, salt, pepper, and paprika sprinkled on top.

“Deviling” is a seasoning process that was invented by the sons of William Underwood – owner of a condiment business in Boston during the 1800’s.  Deviled ham in a can (the one with the cartoon devil) was the result of their recipe which is rumored to include hot sauce, cayenne pepper, chili peppers, and Dijon mustard.

Hmm.  This got my red shoulder angel thinkin’. . . .

Deviled Egg Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.

My red shoulder angel is yellow, with a real “flare” for talking me into making spicy choices in the kitchen.

Don’t get me wrong.  I have enjoyed every single traditional southern deviled egg I’ve ever shoveled in my mouth.  But perhaps it’s my Texas upbringing, or my Louisiana heritage, or maybe it’s just my compulsion for proper categorization that made me want to kick these eggs up a notch.  Don’t worry, they won’t hurt a bit.  On a heat scale of 1 – 10, these are only about a 3.  If you want more heat, just add more jalapeno slices and hot sauce.

  • Pot with Lid
  • 6 Extra Large Eggs
  • 1 Celery Stalk
  • 1 Large Garlic Clove
  • 6 Jalapeno Slices
  • 1 Tbsp. Jalapeno Juice from Jar
  • 1 Tbsp. Spicy Brown Mustard
  • 3 Tbsp. Mayonnaise
  • 2 Dashes Hot Sauce (Or more, if you can take the heat.)
  • Salt to Taste
  • Pepper to Taste
  • Crushed Red Pepper
  • Dried Parsley Flakes (Or chopped fresh parsley.)

Deviled Egg Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Cover eggs with cold water.  Place on medium high heat.  Bring to a boil.  Boil for 3 – 4 minutes.  Turn off the heat and cover pot with lid.  Set your timer for 10 minutes.

Deviled Egg Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Meanwhile, mince celery very finely.  Crush, then mince garlic.  Mince jalapeno slices.

Deviled Egg Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Deviled Egg Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Add celery, garlic, jalapenos, and jalapeno juice to bowl – allowing the flavors to marry.

Deviled Egg Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Deviled Egg Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Deviled Egg Recipe.  Noted in Nashville. Deviled Egg Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.When timer goes off, remove eggs from water with a slotted spoon.  Run cold water over eggs, peel, and cut in half.  Add yolks to celery mixture, crumbling with a fork if necessary.  Add mustard, mayonnaise, hot sauce, salt, and pepper.  Mix well.

Season egg white boats with salt before filling with egg yolk mixture.

Deviled Egg Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.Sprinkle tops of eggs with crushed red pepper and parsley flakes.

Deviled Egg Recipe.  Noted in Nashville.

Not your momma’s deviled eggs.

I like to serve these immediately, but they can be prepared a day ahead if kept in the refrigerator – well covered to keep from drying out.  I’ll warn you though – the longer they sit, the hotter they get.  If you make them a day ahead, they’ll be at least a 4 on the heat scale when served.

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

10 thoughts on “Deviled Egg Do-Over

  1. Pingback: Noted in Nashville Recipes | noted in nashville

  2. I grew up having these everywhere — weddings, family reunions, school spaghetti suppers and all that. But this recipe with that spice thrown in is a nice modern update to a classic. Thanks, Anita.

    • I know what you mean – they’re everywhere. It’s funny, no one really comments on or compliments the deviled eggs. But if they’re NOT there . . . everyone’s disappointed. Thanks for checking out my recipe Brigitte.

  3. I will be doing this, Saturday! And by the way, I use those same tamed-peppers for everything: k

    Tuna-salad
    Every sandwich
    Eggs – every kind
    Pizza
    Steaks/Loins/Chicken
    Etc.
    No longer eat real-hot peppers, but I can eat those on anything, and regularly do. Mmm.

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

