“Poor Wayfaring Stranger”

“Poor Wayfaring Stranger”

Noted in Nashville sings "Poor Wayfaring Stranger".I remember singing this for my church when I was twelve.  I was raised in the Church of Christ, so that meant no piano, no guitar, no nothin’ but me and my voice in front of the hushed congregation.  I have loved the sweet melancholy of this song since my voice teacher taught it to me that year.  Over the years, I’ve played with different arrangements.  This is the one I finally recorded.

At least this time I didn’t have to sing it a cappella.  Thank you for listening.

“Poor Wayfaring Stranger”

American Traditional/Folk Song

I am a poor wayfaring stranger,
While journeying though this land of woe.
Yet there’s no sickness, toil, nor danger,
In that fair land to which I go.

I’m going there to see my brother.
I’m going there no more to roam.
I’m only going over Jordan.
I’m only going over home.

I know dark clouds will gather o’er me.
I know my way is rough and steep.
Yet beauteous fields lie just before me,
Where God’s redeemed their vigils keep.

I’m going there to see my father.
He said he’d meet me when I come.
I’m only going over Jordan.
I’m only going over home.

I’m going there to see my mother.
I’m going there to see my home.
I’m only going over Jordan.
I’m only going over home.

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

13 thoughts on ““Poor Wayfaring Stranger”

  1. Funny you should put up another song today, because just a few hours ago, I was cleaning out my desk (one of my last spring-cleaning tasks), and while I organized, I listened to your songs on your You Tube channel. Made the job much more enjoyable. 🙂

    • Whistle while you work . . . Although, I’m not sure my songs are whistleable. (That’s probably not a word.) It really does my heart good to know you genuinely enjoy them.

      You are going to have the cleanest house in North America. I’m inspired!

  2. Anita! You have a beautiful voice…thank you for sharing your wonderful talent with us. How wonderful to be able to sit down, create music and sing — so great.

  3. Pingback: Baking Biscuits: The Loveless Cafe Way | noted in nashville

  4. Beautiful song Anita. I had heard this a few times with guitar, but never on the piano. This is probably an indicator of how little time I spent in church as a child. You have a beautiful voice. ~James

    • I attended Sun. morning, Sun. night, and Wed. night every week as a child. But we spend little time there now. 🙂

      I enjoyed arranging this one. Thank you for taking the time to listen.

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

