Noted This Week of April 7, 2013

Noted Weekly.  Noted in Nashville.Every year as our anniversary approaches I wonder, “Why did we get married so close to tax season?!?”  But when I look at our wedding photos (See, I told you we were married in hoodies!)  I remember the answer.  We couldn’t wait one more month, one more week, one more day.

When we’re not celebrating our eighth year of marriage this week, I will be cramming to complete my taxes.  You may ask yourself, “What kind of person waits until the last week to do their taxes?”  My answer is, “The same kind who elopes in jeans and a hoodie.”  Before you judge too harshly, just remember that it’s us procrastinators that make the rest of you look so good. . . .  So, you’re welcome.

As always, I’ll be checking to see what the rest of you are up to.  I’ll post again next week.  Until then, if you have some time to kill . . .

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

12 thoughts on “Noted This Week of April 7, 2013

  1. I think your wedding was perfect! I really wanted to elope, but my husband wanted a wedding so we had a small one (almost 25 years ago). We took out a $2,000 loan and paid for the whole thing save a small reception in my in-laws’ backyard. It wasn’t fancy, but people seemed to like it, and it suited me fine. I can’t imagine spending thousands and thousands of dollars on one day.

    • According to a blog I follow, the average wedding costs $35,000! Boy, am I out of touch. If I had to have guessed, I would have said $10,000.

      Your wedding sounds like it was lovely. For one of our big anniversaries, we might do something like that – a backyard shindig. I think that would be really nice. Around here, I could probably find a good band on the cheap. 🙂

  2. Anita, you are a lovely bride! Hubby and I married in our backyard. It was wonderful. You look like Sandra Bullock in that photo — that’s a compliment. I bet Nashville is warming up nicely now — what, 70s? Slowly but surely, it’s getting that way in NY….

    • Thank you for the sweet compliments. Ever since “Speed”, I’ve been told that I look like Sandra. But you’re the first to mention it on the blog. I’ve never really seen it, but I sure don’t mind.

      I was just saying to Carrie (The Write Transition) that a backyard wedding/reception sounds lovely.

      The weather here is beautiful, and I’m sending it your way now, Brigitte. You’ve waited long enough. 🙂

  3. In jeans and a hoodie with a gorgeous smile, you look perfect for marriage, any occasion. I’ll show this post to my girlfriend 😉
    I paid no taxes last 4 years. I made none to give any!

  4. Happy Anniversary Anita! Married in hoodies … you guys ROCK. Re: taxes, this thought helps me. If you’re paying taxes, then you’re making money. This seems better than the alternative. ~James

    • Excellent point. Once I get started, I don’t mind the process that much. Crunching numbers (however small) is good for waking up the left side of my brain.

      Thank you for the anniversary well-wishes. The years go by so fast, it’s good to take some time to remember the beginning of DnA. Have a great week!

      • And Anita, I’d like to add from the other half of Gallivance that the look on your face says it all … pure bliss! Yours is the face of love. Have a wonderful anniversary. ~Terri

      • Thank you Terri! I’ve seen your pictures on the “Our Story” page of your blog, and I know you’ve felt that same bliss. Big D never likes any photo of himself, but he said the other day of this one, “I like the way I look in your eyes.”

    • That’s great; I’ll check it out today. By the way, I started that video with ZZ Top, and Big D immediately stopped what he was doing and sat down to watch it. We have that Crossroads video, but oh what he wouldn’t give to see that festival live sometime!

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

