Awards Day

Awards Day!  Noted in Nashville.Awards Day!

Transcending Borders is an inspirational blog by Tazein – a strong and gracious woman who shares hope through her poetry and personal stories.  She has overcome abuse and depression and uses her blog as a format to encourage others through her writing.  She is the most awarded blogger I know, and now she has honored me with the Tag!  You’re it. Award and the Sunshine Award.  Check out some of Tazein’s poetry here.  Thank you Tazein!

The hardest part about accepting these awards is knowing to whom to pass them.  If your name is not on one of the lists below, it’s because I figured you were already up to your eyeballs in awards, or I noticed you already have the icon on your blog.  Award or no, I appreciate all of you!

tag-image65

Tag! You’re it.

11 FACTS ABOUT ME:

  1. I always wanted to be 5’9″ because someone told me that models are that height.  I didn’t quite make it, measuring at 5’8″. (5’8 1/2″ if I stand really straight!)
  2. I could eat chips and dip every day of my life.
  3. My mom was afraid of cats.  She taught me to dislike them.
  4. I was never owned by a cat until I met Big D.
  5. I am now the proud person of four cats.
  6. I never had to wear braces, but I had many cavities as a girl.
  7. I can’t drink milk.  Yuck!  (Perhaps this is why I had so many cavities?)
  8. I used to drink buttermilk, though.  Go figure.
  9. Big D says I’m the best guitar student he’s ever had, but he’s biased.  I can strum a few chords.
  10. As a girl, I sang “Hopelessly Devoted to You” in front of the mirror, using a curling iron (unplugged, of course) as a microphone.
  11. Sometimes I sing into the remote control or a hairbrush just to amuse Big D.

11 QUESTIONS:

  •  1.)  What is your dream goal in life?

I moved to Nashville to pursue professional songwriting.  When I met Big D, I found my songwriting partner, and my dream had more purpose and meaning.

  •  2.)  Do you believe in God?

Absolutely.

  •  3.)  Have you already published, or thinking of publishing your book?

I am not published.  The first thing I’d like to have published is my choral arrangement of “Infant Holy, Infant Lowly” that I wrote for my friend Anne’s choir last December.  (Hear it here.)

  •  4.)  What do you do to relax and unwind?

Watching a movie gets me out of my head and helps me relax – laugh, cry, feel.

  •  5.)  Do you have children?

When I met Big D, I was ready to start a family.  We would have five kiddos by now if life had worked out that way.  I haven’t been blessed in that area of my life yet, but I hope for it and think it about it every day.

  •  6.)  Where do you look for happiness?

I look within for my happiness.

  •  7.)  What is your favorite color?

I love color!  Red, yellow, orange, even certain shades of purple lately.  But my favorite colors are several different shades of blue.  Don’t make me choose!

  •  8.)  Who is your favorite author?

My old-school favorite authors are F. Scott Fitzgerald, John Steinbeck, and Nathaniel Hawthorne.  My new-school favorites are J.K. Rowling, Nicholas Sparks and Stephen King (typical, I know).

  •  9.)  What motivates you to blog?

If I’m not creating, I die!  Blogging provides an outlet for people to hear my music; and I needed a reason to write again – essays, short stories, even recipes and decorating tips.

  • 10.)  Do you believe in love at first sight?

Big D and I are living proof that love at first sight exists.

  • 11.)  Are you doing a full time job?

I still teach voice and piano – although I don’t keep the same full schedule I used to.  During the holidays I stay extremely busy with my professional caroling group.

11 QUESTIONS FROM ME TO YOU:

  •  1.)  Why did you begin blogging?
  •  2.)  Have you ever taken private music lessons?  If so, for what instrument?  If not, did you ever want to?
  •  3.)  Have you ever cooked for a crowd?  If so, how large?  If not, what is the largest number of people you think you could handle?
  •  4.)  What is the staple meal in your home – your go-to meal?
  •  5.)  Is there a hobby you’ve never taken up but would like to?
  •  6.)  Do you ever “sing like there’s nobody listening”?
  •  7.)  In honor of National Poetry Month, who is your favorite poet?
  •  8.)  Do you now or have you ever written poetry?
  •  9.)  Are you a Belieber or a Directioner?  Just kidding.  Who is your favorite singer/songwriter?
  • 10.)  How do you celebrate spring?
  • 11.)  Have you ever been to Nashville?

5 TAGGED BLOGGERS:

  1. Brigitte’s Banter
  2. Romancing the Bee
  3. Seyi Sandra David
  4. Fictional Machines
  5. The Hungry Mum

THE RULES: 
(Should you choose to accept this award.)

  • 1.)  Post a picture of the award on your blog.
  • 2.)  Tag back the person who tagged you to let them know you have accepted the award.
  • 3.)  State 11 facts about yourself.
  • 4.)  Answer the 11 questions I have asked you.
  • 5.)  Tag the same amount of people as there are letters in your name.
  • 6.)  Ask your OWN QUESTIONS to the people you have tagged.
  • 7.)  Contact the people you have tagged to let them know they have been tagged.

______________________________________________________________________________________

http://transcendingbordersblog.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/sunshine-award.png

Sunshine Award

10 QUESTIONS:

  •  1.)  Favorite color:

Blue (See answer from Tag! award.)

  •  2.)  Favorite animal:

My fuzzy friends are suggesting I answer, ‘cat’.  (Again, see above info.)

  •  3.)  Favorite number:

111 and 333 seem to pop up a lot in my life.

  • 4.)  Favorite non-alcoholic drink:

Seltzer water when I’m being good.  RC when I’m not.  Coffee anytime.

  •  5.)  Prefer Facebook or Twitter:

I don’t have a Twitter account.  Slowly but surely I’ve grown to love Facebook.

  •  6.)  My passion{s} :

Music.  Big D.  Food.

  •  7.)  Prefer getting or giving presents:

Giving.

  •  8.)  Favorite pattern:

Palindromes.

  •  9.)  Favorite days of the week:

Sunday.  Friday.

  • 10.)  Favorite flower:

Daisy.

NOMINEES:

  1. (Re)Creating Carly
  2. THEARTOFLOVINGKINDNESS
  3. Peace, Love & Great Country Music
  4. Laughing Penguins
  5. A Twist of Couture
  6. Seyi Sandra
  7. The Song of the Week Blog
  8. The Perky Poppy Seed
  9. Cooking with Corinna
  10. Guitar Licks and Tabs

RULES FOR RECEIVING THE SUNSHINE AWARD:

  • 1.)  Include the award’s logo in a post or your blog.
  • 2.)  Answer 10 questions about yourself.
  • 3.)  Nominate 10 bloggers.
  • 4.)  Link your nominees to the post and comment on their blogs, letting them know they have been nominated.
  • 5.)  Link the person who nominated you.

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

18 thoughts on “Awards Day

  1. Wow! Congratulations on your awards… and your answers are so insightful. I wish you success in every areas of your life! Thanks for thinking of me. I’ll get round to it soon!
    Much love. 🙂

  2. Fun to learn these things about you. I’m with you on the watching movies to unwind thing. Going to a movie is one of my favorite forms of escape. Aside from reading, of course. 🙂

    Congrats on the awards!

    • Thank you Carrie. I know you recently cleaned your awards plate, so I figured you probably wanted to be spared another one for a little while. 🙂

      I love going to the movies. One of our favorite places in the world is the drive-in. But lately the movies have been so bad, we’ve just been skipping it. Not even the lure of cheap nachos and candy has been able to make me overlook the crappy double features. So, you know it’s bad.

  3. Hi Anita, you are clearly deserving of these thoughtful awards, and seem to be living your dream. Congrats!

    Thank you for considering my (very limited-interest) blog, the gesture is truly appreciated.

  4. Anita, I’m so glad I found you on the blogosphere. You are truly one of the kindest (not to mention mucho talented) people I’ve had the good fortune to find. Thank you for this — I just think you are wonderful and when I have the time (going through some bigggg changes right now), I will honor this with the proper respect that is due. You rock and btw, did you check out The Voice yet?? 😉 xxoo

    • Oh, I meant to tell you! I caught part of The Voice the other night. Usher’s two contestants sang Bill Withers’ “Ain’t No Sunshine”. Wow!!! They were incredible! It definitely piqued my interest.

      Brigitte, I feel the same way about you. Your blog is a reflection of the kind, insightful, compassionate person you clearly are. I think I found your blog because you were Freshly Pressed, and I’m so glad I did!

      Take your time on the award. I hope your upcoming changes are all positive and fun. 🙂

  5. Congratulations!! Well-deserved! And I love that you picked palindromes as your favorite pattern. Have you ever read The Poisonwood Bible (the author is from Tennessee)? One of the characters thinks and speaks in palindromes. Incredible.

    And – thank you! I love this! So happy our blogospheres collided. 🙂

    • I’ve never read The Poisonwood Bible but I’ve heard of it. That is so interesting . . . I’ll have to check it out. Sounds like good summer reading.

      Brigitte gets all the credit for our collision. She recommended your blog, and I totally trusted her taste. It was a good decision. 🙂

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

