Buffalo Chicken Soup with Corn

Buffalo Chicken SoupBuffalo Chicken Soup with Corn

I almost forgot how to post.  That’s how long it’s been.  I almost forgot how to type too.  Let’s just chalk any spelling errors up to that.

Thanks to a gift card and a smokin’ deal at Target, I finally chose Kody’s successor.  (For those of you who missed my last post, Kody was my camera.  Get the story here.)  My new Nikon CoolPix S01 is adorable – and I think we all know that adorability is the most important quality in a camera.  It’s so tiny, it inspires coos from strangers when I take it out of the free clutch that came with my purchase.  It feels like a toy in my hand.

New CameraLet’s just hope it doesn’t take pictures like a toy.  What do you think?  This is Pixi’s blog debut. . . .

  • Stock/Soup Pot
  • 1 Pkg. (Approximately 2 lbs.) Chicken Drumsticks
  • 2 Bay Leaves
  • 1 tsp. Parsley
  • 1 tsp. Thyme
  • ¼ tsp. Sage
  • 1 tsp. Paprika
  • 2 Pinches Smoked Paprika
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1 tsp. Worcestershire
  • ½ Sweet Onion (I prefer Vidalia)
  • 12 oz. Bag Sweet Corn
  • * ¾ Cup Extra Mild Buffalo Wing Sauce * (See notes below.)
  • 1 Cup Sour Cream
  • Blue Cheese Crumbles (Optional)

DSCN0260DSCN0266DSCN0272

Place drumsticks in pot and cover with 12 cups of water.  Add bay leaves, parsley, thyme, sage, both kinds of paprika, 1 tsp. salt, and Worcestershire to water.  Slice onions and add to pot.  The onions will be strained from the soup later, so your slices don’t have to be pretty.  Stir ingredients.

DSCN0274Bring to boil on medium high then reduce heat to medium.  Cover, leaving a slight vent with the lid.

Cook for 50 – 60 minutes, until meat starts to pull away from and fall off the bones.

DSCN0279

Turn off burner.  Remove chicken from pot.  Let chicken cool to the touch.

DSCN0286Strain broth into a large bowl.  This will separate any pieces of chicken fat, bone, bay leaves, onions, etc from the broth.

Return broth to pot.

Skim excess fat from top of broth.

DSCN0289

Remove chicken from bones.  Set aside.

Add sour cream to broth.  Turn burner back on – to medium.  Stir sour cream until fully blended.  This might be a great time to use your emulsion blender if you own one.

*Add Buffalo Wing Sauce.  For the heat sensitive, start with ½ cup and go from there.  If you love hot stuff, you might be happiest with 1 cup.  My Texas tongue is happy with ¾ cup, and it’s not too hot for Big D who prefers a milder heat.  It’s a good in-between heat for us both.*

Add corn.

Add salt and pepper to taste.  I found that it needed quite a bit of salt.  It is a big pot of soup.  Stir well.

Add chicken.

Stir well before serving.

Add blue cheese crumbles to each bowl if desired.

Big D and I also love to crumble tortilla chips on top.  It adds a yummy crunch to each bite.  This would also go well with jalapeno cornbread.  I’ll share a recipe for it sometime.

DSCN0299DSCN0311DSCN0324Thanks for stopping by!

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

11 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Soup with Corn

  1. Pingback: Noted in Nashville Recipes | noted in nashville

    • Not at all. I did have a relaxing and productive summer. I can’t believe it’s over. My voice and piano students are all back in school and the weather already feels fall-ish.

      Ha, I didn’t drop the camera in the soup, but it has had food smudges on the touch screen. Niiice. 🙂

    • Thank you Terri! If you do try it, let me know how it turns out. I always enjoy hearing feedback and suggestions for making recipes better or easier. Pixi is so small, she could very easily get lost in that big pot of soup. 🙂

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

