I’m Not Bitter, I’m Peachy

DSCN0380Pinch a Peachy Monkey Bread

I’m Not Bitter, I’m Peachy

This month, Pillsbury will announce the winner of their 46th annual contest.  First prize?

Yeah, what she said.

Second prize?  Who cares; and let me get straight to the point here.  Our recipe, Pinch a Peachy Monkey Bread, was not selected as a finalist.  So, there will be no free trip to Vegas for us, where the final judging will be held.

Well played, Austin.  Well played.

Also well played were the two pinch bread (or pull apart) recipes that did make the finals.  Just in time for the holidays, Cinnamon Roll Cranberry Orange.  And Mocha Cappuccino?  Well, if you’re going to use chocolate and caffeine, you’re a shoo-in.

Okay, I will concede that all 180 recipes selected in all three categories – dinners, sweets and starters, and rise and shine breakfasts – look amazing.  So, you know, congratulations and stuff.  You can check them out for yourself (she says, eyes rolling) here:  http://www.pillsbury.com/our-makers/bake-off-contest/semifinalist-recipes.

But next year, forget the fruit.  I’m going to roll up dough with gobs of cheese, a stick of butter, or a Toblerone stuck in the middle.  Then we’ll see who gets the last laugh.

This was our entry:

Pinch a Peachy Monkey Bread

  • 9 Inch, Round Cake Pan
  • 1 Can Pillsbury Flaky Layers Honey Butter Biscuits
  • 1 Ripe Peach (Or Peach Preserves)
  • 2 ½ Tbsp. Butter
  • ¾ Cup (Packed) Light Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. Cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp. Honey
  • ½ Cup Pillsbury Creamy Supreme Cream Cheese Frosting

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

DSCN0332Cut 1 ½ Tbsp. butter into pats.  Layer bottom of 9 inch, round cake pan with pats of butter.

Cover butter with ½ cup (packed), light brown sugar.  Sprinkle ½ Tbsp. cinnamon over brown sugar.

DSCN0335Peel and dice fresh peach.  Layer dices evenly into cake pan.

If it’s not peach season, place dollops of Smucker’s Peach Preserves evenly over brown sugar.

DSCN0341 DSCN0342Open biscuit package.  Cut each biscuit into quarters.  Layer biscuits over peaches to fill cake pan evenly.

Drizzle with honey.  Cut 1 Tbsp. butter into pats and layer over biscuits.

DSCN0346Cover with ¼ cup (packed) brown sugar.  Sprinkle ½ Tbsp. cinnamon over sugar.

DSCN0348DSCN0371Bake until biscuits are golden brown – approximately 15 – 20 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes.  Run knife around edges.  Place plate on top of cake pan (use mitts if pan is still hot) and flip cake pan.    Jiggle slightly to help release bread from bottom if necessary.  Wait for it. . .  Wait for it. . .  Remove pan from plate.  If any peaches were left behind, return them to the top of bread.

Place cream cheese frosting in microwavable bowl.  Microwave on high for 20 seconds.  Stir and drizzle over bread.

Serve, and pinch a peachy monkey.

DSCN0390– Anita, Noted in Nashville

15 thoughts on “I’m Not Bitter, I’m Peachy

    • LOL. This is really Big D’s baby. He LOVES sweets, especially for breakfast. (Danger is his middle name.:) ) And, I agree, those three things really work well together.

      So good to hear from you Brigitte! Have a great week.

  1. Honestly (and I’m not just saying this cause I like you 🙂 ), your recipe looks best. I’m not a cranberry nor coffee fan, but peach? Oh, yeah, I’ll take me some of that! I have added this post to an ever-growing list of recipes I’d like to try. Maybe I’ll get to it some day because it looks amazing!

    • It wouldn’t bother me if you said it just because you like me. I’m not proud, I’ll take compliments however I can get them. 😉

      Let me know if you get a chance to try it. It’s really easy to make. Next time I make it though, I’m going to have to schedule a Zumba class or something to counteract the number of peachy pinches I take. 🙂

      • Anti-peachy pinch Zumba–I like it!

        Seems like this would be a good holiday morning item. Maybe Christmas morning. As long as I don’t get lazy…

  2. That recipe sounds delicious. I guess it would be safe here to mention publicly (as you’ve posted several of the video clips..) that my twenty-one year old son and I still rip-off bits from the Austin Powers movies…and we laugh.

  3. Anita, i can’t believe you didn’t win – this looks so good! I mean seriously, I feel like Pavlov’s dog sitting here drooling all over my keyboard. 🙂 What’s not to like? I will be baking this in the very near future. ~Terri

    • Hey Terri! Awesome, let me know how it goes. I always love to hear about any tweaks or tips on a recipe.

      On a side note – next time you guys roll through town, we would love to meet you for lunch or dinner somewhere . . . if you’re interested. 🙂

      • I’ll be sure to let you know when we try it. Can’t wait.

        And yes, we would absolutely love to get together with you and Big D the next time we’re in Nashville. Right now we don’t have a trip planned, but as soon as we do I’ll check in with you and see if we can work it out. Woohoo! 🙂 ~Terri

      • That sounds great – whenever you get back to this part of the world. I think we’d really enjoy getting to know you guys better, and hearing about all your cool travel adventures in person. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Noted in Nashville Recipes | Noted in Nashville

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

