The Quiet Crunch

The Quiet Crunch

I’ve been a little quiet on the blog lately.  I’m always a little quiet when I’m up to no good.

The Quiet CrunchActually, the reverse is true.  I’m quietest when I’m working on or toward something that matters to me.  Getting serious about something for me, usually equals silence.

I’ve been that way since I was a little girl.  My mom used to tell me that she never worried when I got quiet in another room.  She knew I was working intently on a project.  She also told me that it was a nice change after raising two boys.  Their silence would trip the silent alarm in her head.

The Quiet CrunchThis reminds me of a story she once told me about a subject very important to me – chips.  I was a toddler, and I managed to climb up the kitchen cabinets and onto the counter.  An open bag of Cheetos lay there, calling my name.  My mom walked into the kitchen to find me eating one chip at a time with calm delight.  I hadn’t made a sound, or a mess.  There were no crumbs, no fallen or scattered chips.  Even at that age I knew better than to waste a single, tasty morsel.

Last week, as I waited for one of my favorite workout videos on You Tube to begin, a commercial for Lay’s “Do Us a Flavor” played.  I was super excited to hear this sweet jingle – serenading me, what is basically my life’s motto:  “Wouldn’t it be yummy as a chip?” the voice sang.

YES!!!  It would!!!

Somebody out there gets me. . .

I surprised myself when I completed my workout before rushing to Lay’s website to enter my first three flavor combinations:

1.        Vegetable Lasagna, Version 1

a.       Lasagna

b.      Mozzarella Cheese

c.       Zucchini

Who doesn’t like the warm, cheesy comfort of Vegetable Lasagna?  It’s even better as leftovers the next day.

2.       Vegetable Lasagna, Version 2

a.       Lasagna

b.      Ricotta

c.       Spinach

“Wouldn’t it be yummy as a chip” is my motto for life!  This flavor came to me as I made homemade lasagna a couple of weeks ago.

3.       Vegetable Lasagna, Version 3

a.       Lasagna

b.      Provolone

c.       Mushrooms

Just like grandma used to make . . . if your grandma was an Italian cooking goddess with a food science degree.

Okay, so entering chip flavor competitions is not what has been keeping me so quiet.  There are things more important to me than salty snacks.

Like music.

And Big D.

And writing music with Big D.

That’s what I’ve been working on.  That’s what made me go all . . . stealth.  After nearly nine years of writing music together, we have recorded one of our songs.  Not recorded on a handheld digital recorder, or onto a tape, or recorded on my old school 16-track with cats adding background vocals to the mix.  A real recording, with an engineer who actually knows what he’s doing.

This allowed us to copyright the material and play it live for the first time.  But we didn’t debut the song at just any dive bar or open mic.  We auditioned for The Bluebird.  (For those of you who don’t know about this iconic place in Nashville, read my post here.  Or just watch ABC’s TV drama, Nashville.)

So forgive me if I get quiet again for a little while.  I still have to navigate my way through iTunes and other processes to make our music available.  I have to ready myself for releasing one of our babies to the world.  And I have to tend to the many other songs in the hopper waiting their turn.

I promise to keep you posted as things come together.  Like a chip to dip.

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

17 thoughts on “The Quiet Crunch

  1. Congratulations on the recording! That’s wonderful. I look forward to purchasing a song by you on iTunes someday. Very cool.

    As for the chips, hmm, as you say, at least you got your workout in first… 😉

  2. Anita, this is SO exciting! You and Big D must be thrilled. And THE Bluebird – Wow!!!! I can’t wait to hear your music, so please keep us posted.

    I’m with you on the chips … and the lasagna. And I’m dying to know what your favorite workout video is. 🙂 ~Terri

    • Thank you Terri! It really is exciting. I wish I could make the song available TODAY, but we’ve still got a few things left to do before it’s ready.

      You’re a chip gal too?! Chips and dip truly is my favorite food in the world. And so healthy too. 😉

      I like to workout with an instructor out of Florida – Jessica Smith. She is so talented, and offers dozens of free videos. Her moves are simple, but “pack a punch.” I love that she films from her home, and sometimes does videos with her mom. Plus, she almost always has her precious dog Peanut in the room with her. Here’s her You Tube page:
      http://www.youtube.com/user/jessicasmithtv

      Here’s one I definitely don’t do anymore. I played this for Big D the other day. (A glimpse into one of the most embarrassing things I’ve ever done.) I’ve never seen him laugh so hard in my life! 🙂

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

