From Two Strokes and a Heart-Attack to a New Song and Abbey Road Studio

Rick McCargar was one of the very first bloggers to visit, and “like” Noted in Nashville. After seeing this fellow musician’s site – Guitar Licks and Tabs, I took a risk, and sent an email to this perfect stranger, asking for technical advice. He answered!

It’s because of Rick that I have a You Tube account, and an outlet for much of my music that was just collecting dust. I am so grateful for his willingness to offer help nearly two years ago, and so happy to have his continued support in all my musical endeavors.

Rick recently shared his backstory of how his blog came to be. I know you’ll find it as inspiring as I did, and I hope you’ll take time to listen to his new song.

I’m turning off the computer next week for a self-imposed Spring Break. Woe is me. 😉 I look forward to catching up with all of you in two weeks!

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

Rick McCargar's Guitar Licks, Songs and Music Industry News

Having survived two-strokes and a heart-attack, I figured I’d better get around to doing the one thing I’ve always wanted to do; write, record and publish a few songs. My first song is about the way people in our lives impact our relationships with the things “They Say”. And don’t worry, you’ll have a chance to buy it below the video! Ha!

If you enjoyed the song, and/or take my lessons and download my tab for free, here’s an opportunity to give back by clicking on the cdbaby or iTunes from the links below the video, and downloading the song for $0.99. I’d surely appreciate it! Best always, Rick



Please support my work by downloading my new single “They Say” from cdbaby

Rick McCargar: They Say

What a journey this has been! From a prognosis of an early death, to writing, copyrighting, recording and publishing my first song at age fifty-six. But first…

View original post 937 more words

6 thoughts on “From Two Strokes and a Heart-Attack to a New Song and Abbey Road Studio

  1. Well, thank you Anita. I value our friendship!

    To be clear, I didn’t record at Abbey Road, I recorded using the mic from my zoom Q3HD camera and laptop, but sent the song to Simon Gibson (the man who was in charge of remastering the Beatles Albums) of Abbey Road Studios for mastering. Prohibitively expensive for an amateur such as myself to make it there to yell at his equipment. B ^ )

    You cannot imagine how lucky I feel to not only be alive to play and sing, but to spend time with family, and on-line friends as well.

    Thank you Anita!

    • Ha, well now you know how gullible I am. Or, maybe how poor my reading skills are. 🙂

      Isn’t is incredible, though, to have a professional with credentials like those work on your song? When Big D and I helped record our friend’s song “Oh Dear Lord,” we had the opportunity to work with Larry Greenhill. (He worked on the Highwayman/Highwaymen projects.) A song is perfectly finessed in the hands of professionals like these.

      Thank you, Rick, for being such a great blogging friend these two years. . .

      • It certainly was cool. In the original mix, I had buried my voice deep into the mix because of my poor voice control, and Gibson convinced me to ignore my sense of dread, and he pulled it out, with the comment that he thought it balanced nicely within the song, and that raw works…we’ll see. Ha!

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

