We Gather Together

My computer works.

Not a particularly noteworthy announcement from a blogger, I know.  But being without my computer for weeks makes these words sing off the screen with all the vibrato of a Wagnerian soprano.  Sing it with me, “Maaaai com-pu-tor wo-(trilled r)-ks-ah!”

With more crashing fatigue than its user, my machine refused to stay awake for more than a few minutes at a time until finally deciding to take a two-month-long nap.  I don’t know what woke it from its slumber, but it seems to be up to working 85 – 90 % of the time now.  I’ll type fast just to be safe.

I’ve had these few months to consider the tortures virus writers should endure.  I naturally find cruel and unusual punishment abhorrent, but my recent fantasies have included images of stripping said offenders naked in public where they’re met by Lorenzo Lamas and a laser pointer, Charlie Sheen and an Epilady Classic, and Joey Lawrence and over-the-counter cans of spray tan.  Although I can’t be certain it was a virus that caused the trouble, it still seems good policy.

Anyway, I’m happy to get to post something before Thanksgiving arrives.  Fingers crossed, I’ll be back with more after my tryptophan-induced holiday rest.  I hope you enjoy my new arrangement of “We Gather Together.”

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

– Anita, Noted in Nashville

15 thoughts on “We Gather Together

  1. Beautiful arrangement Anita – the perfect Thanksgiving song. Bummer about the computer. I do most of the IT in our family, so I’m well versed in the “one step forward, two steps back” method of computer troubleshooting. And if there isn’t, there should be, a special place in Hades for computer hackers and virus freaks. ~James

  2. Anita, We’re SO glad you’re back. Your arrangement of “We Gather Together” (one of my all-time fave) is gorgeous – as are you. All that talent wrapped up in a beautiful package. Can’t tell you how much we’ve missed you. Are you getting all that snow that Kentucky has? Here on St. Simons Island we even have a freeze warning and threat of tornadoes! All the best (and hope your computer is fixed), Terri

    • Hi Terri. Sorry for the late response. My computer still plays possum on a regular basis.

      Thank you so much for listening to my arrangement. I love standards and hymns like these. It’s a happy coincidence that they’re public domain, so I’m allowed to put my stamp on them without ruffling feathers.

      We got a little snow, but not enough to keep hubby from going to work. 😦 I hope you two are enjoying your holidays. Any new ornaments from your travels?

  3. Anita, I’ve been absent right along with you. Glad you got your computer up and running though and those virus things suck. I prefer Macs because of that reason. Anyhoo, happy holidays to you and yours and thanks so much for the beautiful song!

    • Yes, we’re considering a Mac next time because we’ve heard that viruses are kept at bay. But even a refurbished one is a pretty penny, so I guess it’s hit and miss on using this one for a while. I hope you’re having a good holiday season! It’s so good to hear from you.

Me, me, me. Blah, blah, blah. Tell me a little about you.

